25
Mar
10

Photoshopping for phunsies!

Listen, I’m usually a pretty nice guy. That is to say, my intentions are normally good and genuine.  For example, I started to write this blog entry in the hopes of making you laugh. But inevitably one or more of you will be offended by the time you scroll down and see the picture I’m about to talk about. Hey, I tried my best.

I’ve recently been trying to learn Photoshop beyond a basic level. For a while my skills didn’t extend beyond cropping me into pictures of hobbits or adding lens flares to EVERYTHING.

Or both!

However if I’m ever going to be taken seriously as a Photoshop wiz I knew I needed to hone my skills. So I started by going to a website I found called Smashing Magazine to see if I could try out a few tutorials. I ended up trying a few different things and while I wasn’t getting the same exact results as the examples, I was definitely improving. So after playing with Photoshop for a while I inevitably found myself distracted by Facebook. I came across a picture of my friend Christie Kim (she’s asian, but don’t hold it against her) at Nationals and thought “I could touch this up and make it look way more badass.” So at first I played with some sharpening, some text overlays, cutting out the background and putting in a nice gradient. Each version was a little better than the last, but after a while I started straying bit by bit from the original idea. When the dust settled, this is what I ended up with:

I'm sorry.

I'm sorry.

2 Responses to “Photoshopping for phunsies!”


  1. 1 ngm
    March 29, 2010 at 3:21 am

    Just say “hello” and “please” a lot. Like this: “Oh, a-herro prease!”

  2. 2 dk
    April 8, 2010 at 2:39 am

    you musta creane your rrooom!


Leave a Reply

